Availability

Llandough Hill Llandough Vale_of_Glamorgan Wales
Llandough Church, the church of St Dochdwy, is located in Llandough on the outskirts of Cardiff and Penarth, South Wales. It has been almost wholly re-built with the present church, dedicated to St Dochdwy’s, being consecrated in July 1866. It has a Chancel and Nave only, with a bell tower over the west end that can house two small bells. It incorporates the original Norman Chancel arch, which now links the south aisle to the bell tower. Its “saddle-back” tower is instantly recognisable as far afield as Caerphilly Mountain. The church interior is a particularly charming example of Victorian decorative Gothic, with polychromatic brickwork after the style of the eminent architect William Butterfield who was building nearby St. Augustine’s Church at the very same time. | From the early years of the Celtic Church, Llandough had been known as a holy place, dedicated to Christian worship. Dochdwy’s Llan in the 5th and 6th centuries, together with Llancarfan and Llanillted Fawr, were foremost among the Christian communities of Morganwg (Glamorgan). Only the Pillar Cross with its Celtic wheel head that dates from the 10th/11th century, situated in the present day churchyard, survives. | The first permanent church building was erected in the 12th century and, after restoration in the 18th century, remained in use until 1820. This original building made way for not one but two new churches in the 19th century, the first being deemed too small for the growing population after only 40 years of service. | Rather unusually this church was removed stone by stone and rebuilt as St. James’ Leckwith, making way for the current St. Dochdwy’s in 1866. | Parts of the original church remain however and the chancel arch is Norman and there are windows of Decorated character. The church comprises a chancel, a striking South tower under slated roof, aisled nave, and North vestry. There is a 5-light traceried window to the West front. The nave has 3-bay pointed-arch arcades and an arched and cusped wind-brace collar beams to the roof. | In the churchyard stands the beautiful ancient cross dating back to either the 10th or 11th century. The cross is almost complete, and is unique in design, being quite different from that of any other cross in Britain. The monument is made of Sutton stone and measures 9’9” by 2’3”, consisting of an uppermost square shaft, with bold roll mouldings at the four corners, supported on a pedestal resembling a column, with the capital and base each formed from a separate stone.
More Information >>
Featured Hotels
CLICK TO BOOK!