Three Crosses (Welsh: Y Crwys) is a village located in the north east of the Gower Peninsula, South Wales. The village stands at a crossroad on the road from Swansea city centre, 6 miles (10km), to Penclawdd, 3 miles (5km), within Britain's first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. In the early 19th Century the village was home to a small coal mining community and today Three Crosses has developed as a 'dormitory village' for the City of Swansea.
The village may not be the largest community on the Gower peninsula, however it boasts the largest chapel on the Gower with the Capel Y Crwys Independent Chapel. The chapel is a Grade II listed building and the current chapel building was built in 1878 and extended in 1912. The village of Three Crosses has a history of non-conformism dating back to 1689 and the first chapel was built on the site in 1788.
The village has a general store and post office at the Country Stores and Post Office on Tirmynydd Road, and two Public House / Restaurants, the Joiner's Arms, on Joiners Road, and the Poundffald Inn, again on Tirmynydd Road.
The Gower Golf Club lies on the edge of the village and here too food is available - a casual bar food menu is on offer daily. This contemporary hotel and golf course, once a successful dairy farm, has been completely renovated and extended to provide an 18-hole golf course and 4-star guest accommodation set in 2 barn conversions. Golfers may use the course free of charge after 6PM.
Walkers will appreciate Three Crosses as the landscape is criss-crossed with walks and rights of way, indeed the Gower Way passes through the village and the splendid Wales Coastal Path passes a mile or so to the north of the village.