Llanrhidian is located in the north of the Gower peninsula in South West Wales. The village lies to the south of the Loughor estuary behind the extensive Llanrhidian marsh. The beaches of Rhossili and Broughton Bay lie some 6 miles, 10km, to the west, and the fabulous beaches of Oxwich Bay and Three Cliffs some 3 miles, 5km, to the south. The vibrant city of Swansea lies 11 miles to the east.
The parish church of Llanrhidian is dedicated to St Illtyd. The Church is reputed to have been founded by St Rhidian during the 6th Century. The current building was possibly built in the early 14th Century and was extensively restored by the Victorians.
Close to Llanrhidian is Weobley castle, which dates back to the 14th century and was built by Henry Beaumont, Earl of Warwick. The hall block, east curtain and two southern towers were the first sections to be constructed. However, there was little defence to the castle, and a second phase of building began soon after the first. This included a gateway to the west, an eastern curtain wall, a chapel and a solar block. It is likely that most of the work took place between 1304 and 1327, when the castle was held by David de la Bere.
No more work was done to the fortification until the 15th century, when it was in the hands of Sir Rhys ap Thomas, who added the porch hall to the private quarters. The porch was then used for domestic use once Weobley castle became a farmhouse in the 16th century.