Llanbedrog is a village in Gwynedd on the Llyn Peninsula, North West Wales. The village lies in the shadow of Mynydd Tir-y-cwmwd on the southern coast of the Llyn between Abersoch to the west and Pwllheli to the east.
The village derives its name from Saint Pedrog, sometimes Petroc, a 6th century saint who established his church or Llan on the shores of Cardigan Bay. Llanbedrog Church is still today a vibrant centre of the local community.
Close by, between the village and beach, is the renowned Arts Centre, Plas Glyn-y-Weddw, a dower house, built in Llanbedrog for Lady Love Jones Parry in 1856.
The village is popular with holidaymakers and is favoured for its magnificent beach that sits against a backdrop of mature woodlands. Miles of golden sands and clear waters can make the beach a busy spot in the summertime, and the pastel coloured beach huts are a site to behold.
Two popular pub / restaurants, the Glyn y Weddw Arms, and the Ship Inn, serve the village and close to the beach is a café serving al fresco refreshments.
There are a number of walks in the locality and those with both the energy and the inclination may climb the 200 steps to the Tin-Man statue and cliff top viewpoint on Mynydd Tir-y-cwmwd. The Llyn Coastal Path recognises the beauty of Llanbedrog and the trail circles Mynydd Tir-y-cwmwd before heading off along the beach to the headland of Carreg y Defaid and the seaside resort of Pwllheli.