Llanafan is a small village in Ceredigion, Wales. Llanafan is situated in a beautiful rural location north of the River Ystwyth, around ten miles south east of Aberystwyth and eight miles north of Tregaron.
Llanafan has a church, St Afan's Church; a chapel; a village hall; a Womens Institute Hall; and a primary school.
The parish church was originally founded by Saint Afan in the 6th century, and was substantially remodelled early in the 19th century and completely rebuilt in 1873 by Ernest Vaughan, 4th Earl of Lisburne.
A notable grave in the churchyard is that of Joseph Butler, a gamekeeper on the Vaughans' Trawsgoed estate, who was shot dead by a poacher, William Richards (Wil Cefn Coch), in 1868. The killer escaped to Paddy's Run, Ohio (near present day Morgan Township, Butler County, Ohio), with the help of local people, and died there in 1920.
The church building is noted for the high quality of the early 20th-century stained glass memorials to members of the Vaughan family.
Llanafan school was established in 1856 to serve the Trawscoed area and currently (2013) has thirty three pupils in the school. http://www.llanafan-school.blogspot.co.uk/
Llanafan Womens Institute Hall was first listed in March 2004 and is a charming little cottage in the centre of the village.